My Life Is Slipping Away

Lately, I have become very aware of how fast my life has gone by. Everyday feels like its moving at light speed and I feel like I can’t catch my breath.

The other day, I was talking with my closest friend, and we were talking about this very thing because I am uncomfortable with it. My life is going by way too fast. My friend was saying “Remember when we were in junior high and were like, oh I can’t wait until high school and we will be so cool, and then we got into high school and we were like gosh college is going to be so great and we are going to be awesome and so mature! And then we were like, oh I can’t wait until we get married and have husbands and it will be so amazing, what happened?”

This is EXACTLY how I feel. Not that none of these events were memorable, they all are, and I am definitely enjoying being married but it feels like it shouldn’t be real because it all came and went so fast.

I officially have a job at “my work” in which I am compensated for, and this week made me want to freak out because every day went by so fast, but not only that, everyday was EXACTLY the same. I don’t think I was prepared by anyone for the routine that you suddenly experience when you enter the real world and have a real job and work everyday at the same time and go home at the same time and eat dinner at the same time and then go to bed and do it all over again. This routine is making me depressed, because I remember a time when everyday was so unpredictable and I would do something different everyday, and if I decided to do the same thing (like go to Starbucks and read, or hike, or whatever) it was my choice. My choice has been taken from me; I’m not saying I don’t love my job, I do, I really do, but this routine really sucks and I don’t know what to do about it.

So I think I am going to start brainstorming new hobbies and activities that I can do to make my life more exciting and not so much of a routine. I don’t think I like routines, I didn’t know this about myself until now, but I really don’t like it.

So, if you have any ideas, shoot them my way…this is an emergency, because I might wake up tomorrow and 2 more years will have passed and I’ll be like “Where is my life, and what happened to that blog with my new hobbies to break this terrible routine!” This may all sound dramatic, but I don’t care, I’m upset about this.

Leave a Reply

