Marriage and My Attempt to be Vulnerable.

This blog is not about my job or about me trying to remember to be joyful. This is about marriage. I’m trying to open up a bit on here and show my readers more of “me” so here it goes…

Last week, Bryant and I were really ticking each other off. I’m not really sure why, but it was the first real week in the history of being married that we wanted to punch each other consistently for 3 days straight. I was mad because he didn’t buy me woman products at the grocery store, he was mad that I was mad at him for not buying me woman products at the grocery store. I was mad that I picked up his dry cleaning for him yet he still didn’t buy me my woman products on his 2nd trip to the grocery store. He was mad that I was still mad about the things that he forgot when he went to the grocery store. The whole thing was really stupid, but at the end of it all I realized the importance of being a team.

In a marriage, it’s about more that just saying that you will be together, support each other, and love eachother-your also making a commitment to being a team player. Growing up, I played a lot of soccer-most of my happy childhood memories come from the many soccer practices and weekend games that filled up my free time. The biggest challenge in playing soccer isn’t the skill-it isn’t how you handle the ball, or how well you can shoot on target, or how fast you can run, the challenge is learning how to play with your team. If you can’t play as a team, if you can’t get past the notion that you are on your own and can do it yourself, you will never win and your team will never win. Marriage is about passing, its about giving and getting, its about learning to play together and facing the opponent together-as a team.

I’m learning how to be an equal player. I’m learning how to fight fairly and how to pass the ball back. I can’t do life on my own and the only way that I can face challenges is if I learn how to make my marriage a team effort. Bryant and I together, learning and fighting and growing and passing, and God showing us which way to run.

Comments

  1. Hiii Katie.
    Firstly, I love your blog.. it just makes me smile imagining all your random stories you tell.. and smile to picture you happy at the Buckle, married with house, husband, and dog!!!
    Secondly, I am getting married in TWO weeks!!!!
    and this post really just hit home and was such a great reminder and encouragement about marriage should be about..
    love it, love you miss you
    xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

