The Rewards of Being a Coffee Addict

I’m not exactly sure when it all started, but last week when I was in Colorado I thought that maybe this whole love of coffee is just in my blood.

My Dad and I walked into his regular Starbucks store and he was greeted by the barista “Hey Bob! How’s it going?” I turned to him and said “That just made me so happy.” My Dad used his Free Drink Coupon awarded for his gold member status–I pulled out my gold card and my Dad said “You aren’t going to let me buy you your coffee?” I responded, “But, then I won’t get a gold star?!”

In highschool, I would leave my house at a ridiculously early hour so I could sit at Starbucks, read my Bible, and sip on my Toffee Nut Latte. I’ve altered my drink a bit, now that I’m no longer 16, I drink it with non-fat milk, but my day always started out the same. Toffee Nut Latte, and then I’d grab a Honey in the Moon Frapp. (White Mocha, 1 pump carmel, no whip, carmel drizzle on top) and head off to school. My friends RARELY saw me without a cup of coffee in my hand.

When I graduated highschool, I got a job at Starbucks. The manager, Linda, said to me one day “You are here all the time Katie, you better just let me hire you.” I was introduced to the coffee passport; the joy of pairing coffee from different regions with different pastries and chocolates…my heart was bursting at the seams.

Bryant and I used to meet at Starbucks almost everyday. We’d sit, he’d sip on his iced white mocha or his vanilla no-water chai, and we’d talk for hours. I like to think that he fell in love with me when I was sipping on my latte. Our happiest moments were shared at Starbucks, in the dark little cafe. In college, we’d escape the stress and drive to a Starbucks store that was 15 minutes away from campus and play bacgammon.

Now, I am married. A Starbucks Gold Card Member–yes I love the street cred; however, the card is about more than just status (though I like to wave it around like an Olympic Gold Medal), its about the bond, the relationship, and the history. I feel a sense of home when I walk into a Starbucks store. My greatest stories have happened while sitting at a Starbucks. Bryant and I got in a fight way back when, and we reunited at a Starbucks; our hug and truce was followed by a standing ovation by the Starbucks customers. I kid you not, the entire cafe stood up and clapped for us. Last week, I somehow managed to see all of my favorite Colorado friends. We all spent time together, played catch up on life, over a cup of coffee.

Coffee and I, we are bonded. We understand eachother, and this morning when I sipped on my 3-Region Starbucks Blend, I felt happy and homey; warm and full. It is rewarding, in its own way.

Comments

  1. Brilliant post! Your story is my story…my customers’ story…the story of all those brave enough to embrace the coffeehouse culture. It’s not so much about the coffee, even though the taste and the caffeine do get you through the day. Rather, it provides a reason to sit, to focus, to slow down life for a few moments and connect with people. It’s a beautiful thing….

    Thanks for sharing your coffee-life story!

    • thanks love! Its true–the community that has formed through coffee is completely irreplaceable. I have met the most amazing and diverse group of people via a cup of coffee–its beautiful really.

  2. I thought I was a Starbucks addict, but my two to five times a week and sometimes two times a day just can’t compare. 🙂 I’m not a coffee addict, however, drinking it only five or ten times a year. I’m definitely in it for the experience/atmosphere/culture!

Leave a Reply

