Empire State of Mind

Alright…HERE WE GO.

We are moving. In 13 days to be exact. My awesome husband was presented with the opportunity to work at a finance and investment giant in New York (technically Jersey City). When we were “kids” ….I really just mean teenagers but I think at this point in my life I can officially call age 18 “childhood” …Bryant used to talk about moving to New York and working for this company and feeling like he had arrived. It was just a dream then, never something that him or I thought would actually happen. But, then again, my husband constantly underestimates his ambition and his brain. (I mean it, he is always humble and surprised when opportunities like this come up). So, after a 2 month or so process of interview after interview (like 15 total, and no hes not going to work for the CIA) its here.

I will miss my small little town, and my awesome job that somehow found me in Southern Oregon, but I am absolutely thrilled to move to the Big Apple (technically Jersey City but go with me here). My plans? None. I’m focusing on moving right now because Bryant is still studying for the 3rd CFA exam (to be taken 2 days before his first day at work) and while he is helping with what he can, we are moving across the country so it feels like a full time job.

The moving truck is picking up our stuff next week sometime, and Bryant and I are going to be leaving May 19th to start our drive across the country. We have our two crazy dogs (Franny & Zoey) so we are going to load them up and try to make the most of the adventure. I’m not a roadtrip person, but I’m going to try to embrace it since I don’t plan on doing this kind of drive ever again in my life if I can help it. We are going to be making stops along the way to see family, and meeting my niece in Ohio who should be born any day now…

Its all a lot to process, and I am trying to stay excited but I know that the waterworks will be coming in a few days. We are going to be saying goodbye to some of the greatest people, and parting ways with some of our closest friendships…but thanks to social media I know that it will all be ok. My heart is full and I feel so blessed.

So heres to another adventure.

Comments

  1. so excited!

  2. Robin Rasmussen says:

    This is awesome! Congrats!!!!!!!!

  3. Christy Polek says:

    Excited for you! And hooray for dreams coming true!
    Driving through Chicago?? πŸ™‚

  4. Lyn & Bob Matich: Popa and Lyn says:

    We just got the address of your blog. Enjoy your road trip! It will be fun.

Leave a Reply

