Thanksgiving

(Image from Epicurious.com, Recipe for Buttermilk-Lemon Chess Pie. Seriously, sounds incredible)

I love Thanksgiving. It has always been one of my favorite holidays. I think this is due largely to the fact that I get to eat stuffing all day, but I also love the concept behind the holiday. It is about being thankful. There is no expectation that you will receive a Thanksgiving gift, instead, the holiday celebrates what you have already been blessed.

This year, Bryant and I are having a mini-Thanksgiving, just the two of us on Thursday. Bryant has to work on Friday so we are staying home and I am cooking a smaller version of our traditional Thanksgiving. We decided to make a honey ham instead of a turkey because on Saturday we are going to Delaware to have our official Thanksgiving with Bryant’s Aunt and Uncle. I generally make the favorites. A homemade stuffing that we crave all year round (which if you all remember right I had a pretty intense pregnancy stuffing craving back in September so we had mini Thanksgiving 2 months ago), a casserole of some sort, mashed potatoes, some other veggie cooked outside of a casserole so we don’t send ourselves over the obesity line, and a desert that is never pumpkin pie because I really really dislike pumpkin. I never make cranberries because I hate them, but my husband is satisfied with the canned jellied kind so I spend 49 cents for those.  We will watch the parade and I’ll cook and then we’ll watch football, and probably some movies, and then we’ll feel like we have to go running so we will take an evening stroll with the dogs, and then end our evening with a Christmas movie (I always vote for White Christmas).

Since we are still somewhat newly married (settled into year 4), we are still developing our traditions and favorite recipes. That said, will you share a favorite with me?

Here is my favorite Thanksgiving appetizer. I’ve made it for holiday parties before, but I really like it to munch on during the parade.

Apple Rosemary Blue Cheese Bites
1 cup Blue Cheese
1/4 cup Pecans
1 ounce Cream Cheese
1/2 tsp Rosemary
2 Medium Apples Peeled (I recommend Granny Smith)
1 can Pillsbury Crescent Rolls

-Mix together blue cheese/pecans/cream cheese/rosemary
-Cut apples into wedges

Spread Crescent triangle with cheese, add 2 ish apple wedges, roll.
Bake 375 degrees for 18-22 minutes or until brown

Comments

  1. this is my favorite apple pie recipe and the crust is CRAZY easy. you don’t even have to roll it out (the step I hate the most) and everyone always raves about it.

    Crust:
    • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
    • 1/2 cup vegetable oil or softened butter
    • 2 tablespoons cold milk
    • 1 1/2 teaspoons white sugar
    • 1 teaspoon salt

    Mix together and pat into the bottom and sides of a pie pan

    Filling:
    • 6 Fuji apples, cored and sliced
    • 3/4 cup white sugar
    • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
    • 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
    • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

    Mix together. Duh.

    Topping
    • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
    • 1/2 cup white sugar (I need to try brown sugar)
    • 1/2 cup butter

    Mix together and sprinkle over the top of the apples. My butter was super soft, so it ended up being more like a batter, but I don’t know that it makes that much of a difference.

    Sprinkle cinnamon sugar over the top of the pie (I forgot this step on the pies for Dad’s birthday dinner).

    Bake at 350º for 45 minutes to 1 hour.

  2. I like these instead of mashed potatoes, if you’re looking for something less traditional.

    10 pounds of red potatoes
    2 pkgs of frozen broccoli (florets, not spears)
    2 cubes of butter
    heavy cream (you’ll need less than a pint)
    salt and pepper
    shredded cheddar cheese
    bacon bits

    Cut the red potatoes into pieces and boil the crap out of them in a really big pot filled with salted water. (Maybe a tablespoon of salt to 1 gallon of water.)

    When the potatoes are tender, add the frozen broccoli. When the broccoli is cooked (should take a minute or two), drain all of it and place in a huge bowl.

    Add the butter and start to mash. Add cream and salt and pepper to taste as you mash. Keep tasting and adding things until it tastes right to you.

    Sprinkle the cheddar and bacon bits over the top and mix them in a little.

    • Oh my gosh. Mrs. Marvel I might be making these potatoes on Thursday! I love spins on traditional dishes. This sounds delicious. (I’m not a baker, so Bryant generally has to do the desert. I always burn things and start fires, BUT when it has the word “easy” in it, makes me think I could attempt it).

Leave a Reply

