Like Wildfire

My hometown is burning…and it sounds ridiculous to even say these words. The fact is, these things happen. It is a part of nature, and unfortunately, sometimes, even our greatest efforts can not stop her.   I am heartbroken, because I am here, and I want to be there. My best called me yesterday completely speechless, as her parents were evacuating their home. Friends who I grew up with are fleeing their neighborhoods, and it isn’t about the “stuff” …not really, it is more about the home that has been created outside of their house, that is what they are losing. Bryant and I hiked Waldo Canyon months before we got engaged. My best and I spent almost everyday trail running around Blodgett Peak the summer before I got married. Colorado Springs is my heart, and just as this wildfire takes its’ homes, I ask that we pray for the city, and let those prayers spread like wildfire too.

(AP Photo/The Gazette, Jerilee Bennett)

(AP Photo/Gaylon Wampler)

(Photo Credits: Unknown)

Ephesians 6:18 “And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all of Lord’s people. “

1 Thessalonians 5:16 “Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances…”

James 1:6 “But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind.” 

Prayer. It sounds so insignificant when we are faced with the heaviest of circumstances, but it is all that we can do, and Jesus calls it enough. He commands us to do it, tells us that nothing is too great, and we should bring all requests before Him. His House. We pray for His House.

I’ve been getting angry on Twitter, and I’ll save that for another day, because right now, the idiot comments are just not worth my energy. I ask that you pray. Over 32,000 have evacuated their homes, that is more than doubled from yesterday afternoon. This fire is only 5% contained, and isn’t expected to be 100% contained until late July (best case scenario). It has burned over 15,000 acres. My parents have had to tape up their doors because the air quality is so terrible; smoke is literally coming into the house. Ashes the size of your hand are blowing around the city. The intense heat and possibility of thunderstorms today could make for a very bad day. There is much to pray about.

Bring your requests to Jesus, nothing is too great. God is Able. And while it is so easy to consider this so much worse than anything that has happened, these kinds of disasters happen all around the world, all the time, and I consider this a time to also be grateful. Not one injury or death has been reported, and that, to me, is really astounding.

Comments

  1. I grew up in wild fire country. My parents and brother & his family still live there. it’s heart breaking the destruction that happens. Especially when so many of these fires are because of stupid people.

    I’m praying. Let me know if you need anything.

Trackbacks

  1. […] remember how broken I felt last summer, as I watched the news coverage for the Waldo Canyon Fire. I remember wiping tears off my face and whispering prayers for the helpless. It was unimaginable […]

Leave a Reply

