Sleep Rebellion

There is something called the “4 month Sleep Regression.” I am no scientist or doctor, but if I had to guess, I would say that this is exactly what is happening to us. I do not want to brag, but Kinsey had been sleeping through the night since she was 2 months. There were a couple off days here and there, but for the most part, she would sleep from 7pm-5am, then eat, and go back down until 9am. The predictability and 10 hour stretch was glorious, and I think that is why this whole getting up every 2 hours thing is that much more shocking/exhausting. The shots on Monday were the culprit. They were a nice, painful, reminder, “Hey! You are 4 months now! Time to shake things up!” So, Kinsey stopped sleeping, and is now eating every 2 hours, 24 hours a day, around the clock, for the last 3 days. I do not know how long that part will last, but it is really just one piece of the ongoing problems we have currently.

We also have a rolling over problem. She used to roll from tummy to back easily, now, she will only roll from back to tummy. She likes it during the day, but at night, she does it..and then she will hang there for a minute, then start to fuss, then eventually scream her head off. She does not remember how to get back. She spends most of her independent play time during the day, on her tummy, and she is not making any effort towards figuring out how to roll onto her back. This means that I am not only up every 2 hours feeding her, but I have to get up additonal times to roll her back onto her back just for her to roll back onto her tummy…and the cycle continues, until eventually, she is so tired she falls back to sleep.

You thought that was it? It is not. Kinsey is also waking up, and talking…for like, a long time, in the middle of the freaking night. It was adorable at first, but NIGHT TIME IS FOR SLEEPING!

Life feels like it did when I first brought Kinsey home from the hospital, except now, Bryant can easily sleep through it, and I am not waddling around as much. I can’t even see straight. I got up today, and I started looking around my general area, and I swore there was smoke in the apartment. I started sniffing frantically, and blinking, and blinking, and then realized, there is not smoke, MY EYES ARE BLOODSHOT! “I can’t even see straight” is not an expression, it is fact. There is nothing I can do. I have to wait this out, just like I wait everything else out, but I really wish there was a secret Mom trick on how to get around this one. I’ve been researching and reading, and everyone just says that at 4 months, a million developmental things are happening, and their sleep cycles change, and they are growing, and they are more alert and less baby and more human, and basically, THERE IS NOTHING I CAN DO.

So. I join the club of sleepless Mom’s once again. Life sucks here. I basically can’t go anywhere after 6pm. The refusal to sleep starts then. Oh, did I mention naps aren’t working out either? I didn’t!? Oh yeah, they aren’t! Like 30 minutes, if I’m lucky!

I am in hell. Baby hell. Except my baby is all angelic looking and has no idea that she is making me stabby. Right now, she is screaming her head off because she is tired of being on her tummy.

I am defeated.

 

Comments

  1. Sane Dad Blog says:

    Our baby has just started sleeping through the night (11pm – 6am) and its been a welcome relief but she has her injections this week and we’re both worried it will disrupt her.

    I’d stupidly assumed that once they sleep through the night that’s it, they’re sorted for life, but it sounds horrific being dragged back to those first few weeks of sleep deprived hell.

    I hope she settles back into her

    • Sane Dad Blog says:

      I hope she settles back into her old routine soon!
      (sorry pressed submit too soon by mistake!)

      • I’m happy to report she slept an 8 hour stretch tonight. Not her usual 10, but I’ll take it. I have a friend who’s 4 month sleep regression lasted closer to 2 weeks, and another that really didn’t notice because their baby has always gotten up every 4-5 hours. So! You could skate right past it! It has been a LONG week. But, now I know to expect less sleep when there’s developmental milestones…can’t ever kiss those sleepless nights goodbye unfortunately.

        Good luck with the vaccinations! It’s never fun even if it doesn’t mess up their sleep pattern.

Leave a Reply

