6 Month Sleep Regression

You all said it would happen again…I just blocked the warning from my memory because I didn’t want to believe it. The 4 month sleep problems were traumatic, and Kinsey and I spent 4 weeks struggling through naps and bedtime. I did not think that it could get any worse than that. But, it has. We had a glorious month of 12-13 hour sleep stretches, mostly predictable naps, and happiness…yes, it was happy. Then, I got sick. Last week sometime. I have no idea what happened, but I was plagued with a fever and just a general feeling of crappy. Then, I think Kinsey must have hit a growth spurt in the midst of her hard core teething. This recipe lent a disaster, because I’m fairly certain that my supply dropped a bit and now my body just can’t catch up. Last night was horrific. I know I said during her 4 month regression that it was worse, but no, this, this is worse than those first few weeks. Lots of crying, lots of nursing, lots of not-sleeping, and no matter what I tried, it just seemed to get more trivial. I tried to bring Kinsey into bed with me, but apparently 6 month old babies don’t adapt to new surroundings as well, so she didn’t want to sleep. I tried to put her in the pack n’ play next to my bed, and she hollered and hyperventilated. Apparently that is no longer an option for us either. So, I just accepted the fact that I would be sleeping in that Ikea rocking chair in her nursery all.night.long.

And, as if this couldn’t get more terrible, today is Kinsey’s 6 month pediatrician appointment. Yep. You heard that right. Shots. Which, are just about the worst thing ever. Kinsey gets a high fever, and becomes hysterical, and really, this could not have come at a worse time. I wish Dr. Martini served Martinis. That would give me more of an incentive to show up on time. Additionally, I decided that I should probably cut caffeine again, and see if it helps. Which is probably one of the stupidest things I could do on a week like this.

I’ve signed off of Twitter for this week. Its an effort to keep myself from complaining. Because I know my timeline would just be filled with “Dear Sleep” love letters, and words of complete defeat. Its better if I mute myself.

Parenthood is hard y’all. So, so hard.

Comments

  1. This too shall pass… Even though it doesn’t feel like it right now 😉

Leave a Reply

