30 Days of Thankful: Day 6

I’ve heard people say that they hate Election Day. But, I think it is probably the politics that they hate, not the actual day where they finally get to cast their vote. Because while I haven’t appreciated the ugly that this election has brought to the surface, I love when all of that is put aside, and we finally have the chance to exercise our right to vote. I am thankful for Election Day (026). I am thankful for the soldiers, marines, and seals that fought for my freedoms (027). Lives have been sacrificed to protect our democracy. I am thankful for the 19th amendment to our constitution that granted women the right to vote (028). Because of the women’s suffrage movement, my voice can be heard. I feel immensely blessed to be in a marriage where my husband listens to what I have to say. We are a team, but we are two. I am grateful that he believes that my convictions matter too (029). I feel blessed to be an American, and today is just another day where I am reminded of that (030). I live in a country where I am considered an equal. Yes, there are still measures that need to be taken to make things truly equal, but I do not live in Pakistan where as a woman, you are unable to open a bank account or buy a home without providing your father, brother, or husband’s information.

So, while my twitter feed may be blowing up with offensive comments (to which I’ve chosen to mute many for the next 3 days, as I am somewhat expecting that this will drag on through today), and while our country may seem incredibly divided at the moment, my intentional thanks puts even the Election Day into perspective.

Leave a Reply

