I am not quiet.

I’ve always struggled with the fact that I am not a quiet woman.

I am loud.

I am opinionated.

I sometimes see the wives who are shy, and doe-eyed and envy their self-control.

Overtime, I have realized that I do not have to fit a mold. The typical Christian woman, is actually not so typical. And, the way that I support my husband and love him is not standardized.

I love the idea of the Proverbs 31 woman.

An excellent wife is more precious than rubies. Her husband trusts her. He praises her. She is a woman of service. A woman of strength.

She is unselfish.

I used to read about her rising before it was morning, and imagined her doing it in an ankle skirt. She’d have her hair tied back in a bun, and she’d be cooking a feast for breakfast, and her husband would wake and give her a kiss on the cheek and say “Good Morning Darling.” And, she would smile, and probably not say “I’ve been up since 4am making you breakfast! Cooking like a boss!!!” No. She would probably instead ask if she could do her husband’s laundry, or ask him if she could shine his shoes. Her hair probably wouldn’t be dirty and mangled with baby food from last night’s dinner. She wouldn’t be screaming profanities while trying to bake some cinnamon rolls, because she’s probably an excellent baker, and knows not to take short cuts in the kitchen.  She probably wouldn’t be rocking out to Kelly Clarkson either.

Or, maybe she would be.

Because the Proverbs 31 woman is not a stereotype. Because every woman is not the same. We do what we do in our own way. We do it with our own strengths.

I sometimes struggle with the idea of the Proverbs 31 woman. I struggle with the thought that maybe I am “too much.” But, if I am honest with myself, in the light of who God has created me to be, I see the truth. That I can be me, while being the Proverbs 31 woman. I do not have to compromise who God made me to be in order to have purpose in my home. God gave me my personality not so that I would have to sacrifice it.

I am not a quiet woman.

And, I know, on most days, that is who I am supposed to be.

 

Comments

  1. Have you read Rachel Held Evans’ new book on biblical womanhood? It’s generally awesome, but in particular her section on Proverbs 31 is pretty amazing and revolutionary in how we can think about it. Highly recommended!

  2. Amen sister. I too am not a quiet. people often say they hear me before they can see me. 😉 But I know God gave me a husband who appreciates that and works well with the often-not-proverbs-31-woman i am. And I am confident God did the same for you in your hubby. 🙂 Embrace yourself. 🙂

  3. Actually, Rachel Held Evans’ came to my university. My fiancee and I went to see her talk. I really liked everything she had to say. I haven’t read her book yet, but its in my to read pile.

Leave a Reply

