Our Little House on Park

We bought an adorable little house in downtown Salt Lake City. It is in an area that is walking distance to both Liberty Park and Whole Foods. I can stroll over to Trader Joes and pick up peanut butter cups whenever I want (dangerous)! Kinsey and I can go to the park regularly (once it isn’t below 30 degrees outside), and we can have Saturday morning breakfast at Pig and a Jelly Jar. 9th and 9th is a few short blocks away. We are going to be living around the best of the best, except the bestest (a non-word that I am going to use anyway) part is that we will have a yard. I never have to walk down a hall and two flights of stairs and back up again to take Franny and Zoey outside. I can say things like “I think I’ll spend the day in the garden today.” Though, I don’t have a garden yet, but I will build one! I don’t know how to keep plants alive either, but somehow, I’ve kept Franny alive, so I imagine that I will be able to grow some lettuce at the very least.

I was afraid to blog about it, because home buying is like one giant question mark. You picture yourself in a house long enough to put an offer on it, but then try not to get too attached after that because there are so many things that could go wrong. Surprisingly, this home buying process was 1000x better than when we purchased our home in Oregon. It was not drama free by any means, but I also wasn’t almost homeless this time around. WIN!

And so, on Thursday afternoon we will sign papers and become official owners of yet another home, except this one we will actually get to live in and enjoy. One of our first (of a few) projects will be building Kinsey’s loft bed/play-room downstairs for when she outgrows her crib. It is a finished basement, but has half walls that are carpeted, since it had to accommodate the bungalow style foundation. It will be pretty perfect for a little person, so I’ve been busy pinning loft beds and reading nooks like nobody’s business. I have to tell you: I am really excited to live in a house where we will have projects. Our Oregon house is beautifully perfect with its Ikea kitchen and fresh newness, and so we never had to do a single thing. This house, though it has been majorly re-done, still has some things. I daydreamed out loud to Bryant this weekend about how we won’t be sitting around the apartment anymore, but instead can be all “Let’s build something! I’m going to go pull some weeds! Shall we saw and hammer things today?”

I leave you with a few of the many loft beds that I’ve been gushing over for inspiration.

Comments

  1. That sounds so lovely! I hope you enjoy it lots and the moving isn’t too stressful. I can’t wait until we own our own house- doing things like painting, sorting the garden and putting up shelves and useful things seems rather futile when we know we won’t be staying here. And I really want a loft bed, and that room.

  2. We have an elevated bed thingie in our basement, probably for the same reasons! You should come over and check out how our sellers did it. Grace slept in it for a while, and right now it is empty until Lewis is big enough to go up there.

  3. Congratulations!!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

