Heirloom Tomato and Eggplant Stacks

I really love to cook, and especially enjoy when I get to cook for other people. I first made these a few years ago when I found out that I was lactose intolerant, and had to come up with recipes that didn’t require the usual cheeses and dairy products. I fell in love with goat cheese, and we started to put it on everything. I came across this recipe, and ended up making it for one of our many wine nights in Oregon, with friends.

It has been really hot in Salt Lake City, and it is really easy for me to get into a rut when it comes to grilling/cooking. Summers sometimes send us into a habitual food diet of hamburgers, hot dogs, and grilled chicken. So, when we invited some friends over for dinner the other night, I decided to bring out this recipe again, and serve it with some grilled shrimp. I really love it, and when Hannah posted this picture of our meal on Instagram, apparently people thought she was eating at a restaurant.

eggplantheirloom(Photo Credits to Hannah Wright)

And so, I thought I’d share it with you. Its super easy, and looks way fancy in the presentation so people will easily mistake its beauty for a dish straight out of MasterChef. Here is my version (mostly based on the link above). After making it a few times for parties and get togethers, I’ve found their measurements don’t really work for their serving suggestion. The recipe calls for just 1 eggplant, for 4 servings, but I don’t really think that’s true. In my opinion, their recipe is for 2 stacks not 4. I like 3 slices of eggplant per stack. I also prefer them to have a bit more dressing. You can adjust based on what you like, but below is where I’ve found the most success.

Eggplant Heirloom Tomato Stacks (Serves 4)

2 Eggplants

1 and 1/2 logs of Goat Cheese (6 ounces)

2 tbsp chopped fresh basil

1 tbsp chopped fresh thyme

3/4 tsp salt

3 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp balsamic vinegar

1/2 tbsp of dijon mustard

1/2 tsp of black pepper

3 medium heirloom tomatoes of different colors (cored and sliced crosswise)

Combine basil, thyme, and goat cheese. Set aside. Slice your eggplant in about 1/2 inch slices. Place in a colander, sprinkle the slices with salt, and let it sit from 10 minutes. After 10 minutes, rinse throughly. Brush with 1 tbsp olive oil, and grill for about 8-10 minutes total, flipping over 1/2 way through.

Combine the remaining olive oil, balsamic, dijon, and pepper. Whisk together.

Straight off the grill, stack the eggplant, goat cheese, tomato, alternating two times. Drizzle the top with your dressing. Add a few basil leaves on top. And ta-dah!

So yums!

Happy Cooking!

Comments

  1. 1. I love goat cheese too.
    2. I’m lactose intolerant too.
    3. Thanks!

    I posted some chicken pineapple skewers that I really like. New to this food blog thing, but very excited to connect with other foodies.

    http://theresagalgano.wordpress.com/2013/07/01/bbq-season/

Leave a Reply

